Home » Uncategorized » The Digital Rut

The Digital Rut

I’ve been ill for the past week. I’ll probably be hacking and honking for a month or so as is the usual course of a cold, but for now, I gut “muh strenth” back so I’m happy.

It’s been so long since I’ve had this type of shaking-under-the-covers, medicine-head-without-even-having-taken-the-Nyquil, how-much-more-mucus-can-be-in-there kind of cold, I’d forgotten how much I like it. I enjoy being sick because it gives me time to think. I only get to do it about once a year and this is when I make life-changing decisions.

This time around I discovered that I’m in a digital rut. I spend way too much time on the computer. Between my day job and having to promote my writing, I don’t get out much anymore. I’m really tired of this self-promotion crap. I’d love to dump Twitter and Facebook. Not that I ever did much on Facebook. In a few weeks, I’m going to release We, Robots as an ebook. After I announce that, I think I’ll offload everything social. I’ll announce and renounce. I may continue to blog because I enjoy that, but I’d really like to get offline. Get out more. I’m missing out on life experience and running out of things to say. It’s gotten so bad that lately I’ve been writing about my day job. Ugh.

Did you know that there are people alive today that do not know what a blog is? It’s true. I meant one a couple of weeks ago. I was so jealous. How blissful to be ignorant of the online world. When was the last time I came across something new that wasn’t new because I followed a link? There’s all kinds of stuff out in reality land and I’d like to discover it. Enough of this virtual crap. I no longer want my MTV. I want to spend more time with my friends, you know, the ones that gave me the cold.

God bless them for that. If it wasn’t for that cold, I may never have discovered the digital rut I’m in. I might never have made my latest life-changing decision. Thank god for friends.

Stay tuned for reports from reality.

Cheers.

Sue Lange

Share

One thought on “The Digital Rut

Leave a Reply

