Home » Uncategorized » DIY: Wishy One Day, Washy the Next

DIY: Wishy One Day, Washy the Next

Here’s an interesting item: http://blog.bookviewcafe.com/2010/03/31/program-or-be-programmed/ Note the comments.

The post is about some guy named Douglas Rushkoff who gave a talk at South by Southwest this year. Considering my previous post on Richard Stallman where I discussed the merits of DIY programming, you’d think I’d agree with Douglas Rushkoff. I think I do, but here’s my comment at the end of the post about Rushkoff’s presentation:

“Thanks for the link. Rushkoff makes a good point, but it’s not really news. Perhaps because of the power of digital tech things are different now, but I think there are more people doing programming and sharing the knowledge about it than there ever was sharing when it was just monks in monasteries or publishers in New York.”

It’s not that I disagree with Rushkoff. It’s more like I disagree with myself. According to my Stallman post everyone’s a member of MicrosoftNation and using off the shelf applications. In my comments to the Rushkoff post I’m saying there’s a lot more DIYers out there and we’re taking back the means of production like never before.

I don’t know what I believe. It’s a Charlie Brown wishy one day, washy the next, world.

Sue Lange
http://www.suelangetheauthor.com

Share

Leave a Reply

