Home » Uncategorized » Edna St. Vinent Millay and the Reading Pagoda

Edna St. Vinent Millay and the Reading Pagoda

IFI will be the gladdest thing
Under the sun!
I will touch a hundred flowers
And not pick one.

I will look at cliffs and clouds
With quiet eyes,
Watch the wind bow down the grass,
And the grass rise.

And when lights begin to show
Up from the town,
I will mark which must be mine,
And then start down!

–Afternoon on a Hill, Edna St. Vincent Millay

I spent the afternoon on Mt. Penn where the Pagoda lives. There were deer to keep me company.

IF

And tracks in the snow.

IF

From up there, Reading looks like a rail yard with all its long rows of houses attached like train cars.

IF

Defunct industry sits in the middle of them, still holding court, but no longer protecting the realm. I spied a beautiful church somewhere in East Reading. Someday I’ll drive around and find it on the ground.

IF

I left before the lights began to show, but I did mark which must be my house before I started down.

IF

One thought on “Edna St. Vinent Millay and the Reading Pagoda

Leave a Reply

